The Rainy Days are Coming


It is July now. It hasn’t rained much since I could remember. Just when I thought the rainy days won’t come, they came with a vengeance – two typhoons, one coming right after the other exited {sigh}. I am a summer person – that means that I’d rather have lots and lots of sunny days than any rainy day.

In the Old Days…

Well, not really in the very old days but back when I was young – in the 1990s, that is – the weather was predictable. The rainy days will start at the last weeks of May and would stretch until around December. Then the next couple of months will be sunny. That is the reason why I love the first few months of the year more than the second half. Also, when it starts to rain, it was a signal that school days are back and we’d be trudging with our wet uniforms and broken umbrellas to school. 😀 In those days, I played with earthworms. Ewwww! I hate ’em now 😀

When the weather was almost predictable, we know when to travel – we don’t do it on June and we try to avoid traveling in the typhoon months of the last quarter of the year. My cousins and I would plan a summer trip to somewhere nice.

These Days…

Nowadays, predicting the weather has become a difficult task for laypeople. No longer can we say that June will bring the rains – no, it took July to scare the rains in coming. And why am I complaining, anyway? I love summer! Well, I just wanted the regularity that the rains brought when I was younger. Still, I love summer – the less rain, the better. 🙂

The Song…

The Carpenters penned my broken chords into song several years ago. Here it goes:

Talkin’ to myself and feelin’ old

Sometimes I’d like to quit

Nothing ever seems to fit

Hangin’ around

Nothing to do but frown

Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down.

 

What I’ve got they used to call the blues

Nothin’ is really wrong

Feelin’ like I don’t belong

Walkin’ around

Some kind of lonely clown

Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down.

 

Funny but it seems I always wind up here with you

Nice to know somebody loves me

Funny but it seems that it’s the only thing to do

Run and find the one who loves me.

 

What I feel has come and gone before

No need to talk it out

We know what it’s all about

Hangin’ around

Nothing to do but frown

Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down.

Leave a Reply

